About the Committee

Homeland Security Committee Overview

The Committee on Homeland Security was created by the U.S. House of Representatives in 2002 in the aftermath of September 11, 2001. The Committee was first formed as a Select, non-permanent Committee, to provide Congressional oversight over the development of the Department of Homeland Security. The Committee was made permanent when it was designated as a Standing Committee of the House on January 4, 2005, the first day of the 109th Congress.

For the 114th Congress, the Committee consists of 18 Republicans and 12 Democrats. To see the membership for the 114th Congress (as of January 2015) please click here.

To see the subcommittees for the 114th Congress please click here.

Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS)

Rep. Bennie G. Thompson

Sign up to receive the latest news from the Democrats of the U.S. House Homeland Security Committee.